Showers, Mr. Monk, And Other Things That Change Your Life

19 Jul

Ever had the nagging feelling that something big was about to change in your life? You can’t quite put your finger on it, and if you had to explain it, you couldn’t. You walk through your days with a sense of feeling like somethings just not right. That God is about to pull a 180 on you. To compound things, when you ask God about this feeling, He becomes the God of vagueness. You pray desperately for clarity, but clarity turns out to be nothing but smoke and mirrors. Right when you think you have it all figured out and you know what God is doing, everything vaporizes before your eyes.

A few months ago I started my day like any other. I slid out of bed while simultaneously grabbing my phone. I checked facebook on my way to the bathroom (sad, I know) only to find out all those alerts are from someone inviting me to join Slotomania. (Side note: if you want to get hid from my wall, send me a request from Farmville, Slotomania or to add my birthday to your MyCalendar). I hopped in the shower and start scrub a dub dubbing when out of nowhere comes a voice as plain as day with a message as clear as mud. “Tom, i’m not going to move until you step out.”

What are you supposed to do with that? At this point, a few things started going through my mind. First, I was completely excited that God was speaking to me. Not that I thought we weren’t on speaking terms, but when the God of the universe speaks that clearly I’m always blown away. Of course the second thing I was thinking was; What in the world does it mean to step out? It’s odd enough that the most transformational times I have heard from God in my life have been in the shower, but from personal experience, when God talks in the shower something Big is going down.

Conversations with God like this are kind of like dating; it’s 95% excitement and 5% sheer terror. You can’t stop thinking about all the possibilities. You remember, right? Does she like me? Should I text her? Should I hold her hand? The possibilities of what could be make you soar, but, at the sametime, you are freaked out beyond belief that everything could come crashing down. Nobody likes that kind of train wreck. Once you get over the fact that God is talking to you, you then realize what He’s asking. “Hey Tom, I want you to step out of this boat. Don’t worry, you’ll float.” Very reassuring, right?

This little phrase, “I’m not going to move until you step out,” haunted me over the next couple of weeks. It followed me everywhere I went, but for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out what in the world I was supposed to do. Finally, after being moved to action after hearing that same little phrase in an episode of Monk (Yes, the OCD detective), I knew I had to do something. Nothing like an episode of Monk to heighten your spiritual recepters. After using all the brain power I could muster, which isn’t much mind you, I determined to go to my boss. I figured, if I tell him about this nagging suspicion, wheels would be put into motion and something would have to happen. I mean come on, when you go to your boss and tell him that you want to do something else with your life, something is bound to happen, right?

Well, I met with my boss and the conversation was nothing short of amazing. We came up with a game plan of looking at a more missional role for me over the next year or two. Bam, I did it! End of story, right? I had figured it all out. I was so proud of myself for deciphering the shower riddle. I’m sure I was strutting around like a peacock, wings spread, chest out, totally inflated by my newly discovered gift of shower interpretation. That’s a spiritual gift, right? I’m sure I was concocting a plan in my head as to how I would use this new found gift as an international ministry. The website in my mind was crazy good. Very Apple-ish. Just one word tag lines with revolving phrases proceeding them. Everyone knows how cool that is.

A plan was set, and the wheels were turning, but I could have never prepared myself for the fork ahead. It was a regular dinner at our house with regular people (no offense Ryan and Kelly-I mean regular in the best sense of the word of course), when God sprang his shocker on me. The funny thing about God’s shockers is that you often don’t know their shockers when you first hear them. It’s not until you act on them that they lead you down a road you could have never expected. It was after a long game of settlers (which I can’t remember if we actually played or if it’s just my imagination, but for the sake of my story lets pretend we did. For that matter, lets pretend I won.), that Kelly out of the blue said, “Hey, there’s a job I think you should apply for.”

Fast forward a bit. I got my resume ready, updated my LinkedIn profile (Rick Warren’s in my network, so you know, gotta play all the angles), and applied for the job. The next thing I know, I’m sitting in the presidents office after my interview sweating bullets because the realization hits me, I got this job. So, to make a long story short, mainly because I have to go to work, I now have a new job. I’m now working for the Luis Palau Association and loving it. So, if you’ve been wondering, “Hey, where are the Mueller’s?” Wonder no longer. There’s a lot more I could tell you, and eventually will, but until next time, remember-God speaks in the shower, Mr. Monk can change your life, and it’s in the little things that God does big things.

4 Responses to “Showers, Mr. Monk, And Other Things That Change Your Life”

  1. Jen July 19, 2012 at 5:30 #

    Tom, you are too funny lol So excited for you guys 🙂 !!! We will miss you tremendously as you and Sarah were the first people we connected with at the church. Your family is special to us!! God is so good 🙂 keep us posted!

    • tommuellerbooks July 20, 2012 at 5:30 #

      Thanks Jen. You guys are amazing. We will keep you posted.

  2. starners July 19, 2012 at 5:30 #

    That’s awesome Tom! I love you’re story and it’s so encouraging, because God’s just said the same thing to me, too. AAAGGGHHHH!!! And I’m more like 80% excited and 20% terrified! 🙂

    • tommuellerbooks July 20, 2012 at 5:30 #

      Glad I’m not the only one he’s saying crazy stuff too:-).

Leave a Reply

